The Psychosocial Theory of Development

Personality & Social Psychology

Psychology & Sociology

The psychosocial theory of development proposes that identity forms continuously throughout one's life as their biology and social environment changes. Developed by Erik and Joan Erikson, this theory consists of eight major stages people encounter as they grow up. Each stage is defined by competition between two traits that are believed to be particularly dominant at that age. Success in this theory is found by balancing these traits, resulting in the development of virtues or positive personality traits.

The eight stages are as follows: trust versus mistrust in infancy, autonomy versus shame and doubt in toddlerhood, initiative versus guilt during preschool years, industry versus inferiority in elementary school, identity versus role confusion in adolescence, intimacy versus isolation in young adulthood, generativity versus stagnation in middle adulthood, and integrity versus despair from ages 65 onwards. It is worth noting that this framework, based on the developmental milestones of the typical western male, may not apply to females and people from non-western cultures.

Lesson Outline

<ul> <li>Psychosocial thoery of development</li> <ul> <li>Identity formation and balance of traits</li> <li>Erik and Joan Erikson's eight major stages</li> </ul> <li>Stage 1: Infancy</li> <ul> <li>Trust vs. mistrust</li> <li>Develop trust in caregivers</li> </ul> <li>Stage 2: Toddlerhood</li> <ul> <li>Autonomy vs. shame and doubt</li> <li>Express preferences and control physical processes</li> </ul> <li>Stage 3: Preschool</li> <ul> <li>Initiative vs. guilt</li> <li>Power to control others and balance leading and being liked</li> </ul> <li>Stage 4: Elementary school</li> <ul> <li>Industry vs. inferiority</li> <li>Complete complex tasks and balance pride, competence, and feelings of inferiority</li> </ul> <li>Stage 5: Adolescence</li> <ul> <li>Identity vs. role confusion</li> <li>Develop identity, fit in, and maintain unique traits</li> </ul> <li>Stage 6: Young adulthood</li> <ul> <li>Intimacy vs. isolation</li> <li>Develop strong relationships and maintain individuality</li> </ul> <li>Stage 7: Middle adulthood</li> <ul> <li>Generativity vs. stagnation</li> <li>Contribute to the next generation and create change</li> </ul> <li>Stage 8: Late adulthood</li> <ul> <li>Integrity vs. despair</li> <li>Reflect on life satisfaction and develop wisdom</li> </ul> <li>Limitations of the theory</li> <ul> <li>Focus on typical western male development</li> <li>Potential cultural and gender differences</li> </ul> </ul>

Don't stop here!

Get access to 51 more Psychology & Sociology lessons & 8 more full MCAT courses with one subscription!

Try 7 Days Free


What is Erikson's psychosocial theory of development?

Erikson's psychosocial theory of development is a comprehensive framework that explains human development across the entire lifespan. It is based on the belief that individuals progress through eight distinct stages, each with its own set of challenges and developmental tasks. The theory emphasizes the interaction between an individual's social environment and their inner psychological needs, resulting in specific psychosocial crises that must be resolved successfully for healthy growth and maturation.

What are the eight stages of Erikson's theory?

The eight stages of Erikson's theory are: 1) Trust versus mistrust (infancy), 2) Autonomy versus shame and doubt (toddlerhood), 3) Initiative versus guilt (preschool age), 4) Industry versus inferiority (elementary school age), 5) Identity versus role confusion (adolescence), 6) Intimacy versus isolation (young adulthood), 7) Generativity versus stagnation (middle adulthood), and 8) Integrity versus despair (late adulthood). Each stage involves grappling with a specific conflict which, if resolved successfully, contributes to personal growth and well-being.

How does the trust versus mistrust stage shape an individual's development?

The trust versus mistrust stage occurs during infancy (from infancy to ~1.5 years) and is centered around the infant's basic needs being met by caregivers. If the caregivers consistently provide care, affection, and security, the infant is likely to develop a sense of trust in the world and in the people around them. Successfully resolving this conflict contributes to the development of a sense of security and a positive foundation for future relationships. Conversely, if an infant's basic needs are not reliably met, mistrust may develop, potentially leading to anxiety, fear, and difficulty forming healthy connections later in life.

What is the significance of the identity versus role confusion stage during adolescence?

The identity versus role confusion stage takes place during adolescence (ages 12-18) and is marked by the process of exploring and questioning one's sense of self and place in the world. Successfully navigating this stage involves experimenting with various roles, values, and beliefs in order to develop a stable and coherent sense of identity. Failure to achieve a consolidated sense of self can lead to role confusion, low self-esteem, and difficulties in navigating adult relationships and responsibilities in the future.

How do the final two stages (generativity versus stagnation and integrity versus despair) affect individuals in adulthood and old age?

Generativity versus stagnation, typically occurring in middle adulthood (ages 40-65), focuses on establishing and guiding the next generation. Successfully resolving this stage involves contributing to society and nurturing future generations, leading to a sense of accomplishment and personal fulfillment. Stagnation, on the other hand, may result in feelings of emptiness and a lack of purpose.

Integrity versus despair, which takes place in late adulthood (65 years and older), involves reflecting on one's life and achievements. Successfully negotiating this stage leads to a sense of integrity, contentment, and wisdom. If individuals feel they have not lived a fulfilling life or are unable to accept their past, they may experience despair, regret, and bitterness as they face the end of their lives.