Stages of Cognitive Development

No items found.

Psychology & Sociology

Thinking and problem-solving abilities change throughout a person's lifetime. One key aspect of cognitive development is the mental organization of information through the use of schemas, which are mental outlines that help people identify, compare, and contrast aspects of the world. The incorporation of new information into these schemas can happen in two ways: assimilation and accommodation. Assimilation involves adding new information to an existing schema, while accommodation occurs when new information doesn't fit into existing schemas, requiring either an alteration in existing schemas or the creation of new ones.

Swiss psychologist Jean Piaget developed a theory comprising four stages of cognitive development. The first stage is the sensorimotor stage, from birth to approximately two years, during which children engage with the world through movement and sensation. The second stage is the preoperational stage, lasting from approximately ages two to seven. During this stage, symbolic thinking develops, which enables the use of language. The third stage is the concrete operational stage, from around ages seven to eleven, where logical reasoning develops and children gain an understanding of conservation, but still struggle with hypothetical thinking. The final stage is the formal operational stage, which begins around age eleven, and is characterized by abstract and hypothetical thinking, allowing individuals to generate and test theories about the world.

Lesson Outline

<ul> <li>Introduction to cognitive development</li> <ul> <li>Mental organization of information</li> <ul> <li>Definition of schemas</li> <li>Examples of schemas</li> </ul> <li>Assimilation and accommodation <ul> <li>Definitions</li> <li>Examples</li> </ul></ul> </li> <li>Jean Piaget's four stages of cognitive development <ul> <li>Sensorimotor stage <ul> <li>Definition and age range</li> <li>Characteristics of this stage</li> <li>Object permanence</li> </ul> </li> <li>Preoperational stage <ul> <li>Definition and age range</li> <li>Symbolic thinking and language</li> <li>Egocentrism</li> </ul> </li> <li>Concrete operational stage <ul> <li>Definition and age range</li> <li>Problem-solving and logical thinking</li> <li>Conservation</li> </ul> </li> <li>Formal operational stage <ul> <li>Definition and age range</li> <li>Hypothetical and abstract thinking</li> </ul> </li> </ul> </li> </ul>

Don't stop here!

Get access to 51 more Psychology & Sociology lessons & 8 more full MCAT courses with one subscription!

Try 7 Days Free


What are the four main stages of cognitive development according to Jean Piaget?

The four main stages of cognitive development proposed by Jean Piaget are the sensorimotor stage (birth to 2 years), the preoperational stage (2 to 7 years), the concrete operational stage (7 to 11 years), and the formal operational stage (11 years and onwards).

How do schemas, assimilation, and accommodation contribute to cognitive development?

Schemas are mental frameworks or structures that help individuals organize and interpret information. Assimilation is the process of incorporating new information into existing schemas, while accommodation is the modification or creation of new schemas to fit new information. These three concepts represent the continuous and dynamic process of cognitive development as individuals learn and adapt to their surroundings.

What is object permanence and how is it related to the sensorimotor stage?

Object permanence is the understanding that objects continue to exist even when they cannot be directly perceived. Object permanence starts to develop towards the end of the sensorimotor stage, which signifies a growing ability to hold mental representations of objects in the mind.

What is the significance of egocentrism in the preoperational stage?

Egocentrism refers to an inability to differentiate between one's own perspective and that of others. During the preoperational stage, children often display egocentric thinking, which limits their capacity to consider or predict the feelings of others.

How do the concrete operational stage and formal operational stage differ in terms of cognitive abilities?

The concrete operational stage is characterized by children developing logical thinking and the ability to solve concrete problems. The formal operational stage, on the other hand, is marked by the development of hypothetical-deductive reasoning and the ability to solve abstract problems.